Why am I doing this again?

I haven’t posted anything in four months…

I think everyone with a blog runs into this situation every now and again. Posting starts to become a chore and I wonder, why I’m doing this again? When I first started this blog, four and a half years ago, I had a specific reason for doing so. I was intimidated by writing in general, thinking it the domain of wordsmiths and geniuses, so I thought that writing in a pressure-free environment would allow me to grow more comfortable with it. It worked. 🙂 This blog as also helped me to expand my love of books to the point that my to-read list is impossibly long and occasionally overwhelming. I’ve gotten a lot out of doing this and I’m amazed I managed to stick with it for so long with my short attention span. I’m feeling just a little bit proud of myself.

Ah, so now you’re probably expecting me to announce that I’ll be giving up the blog, that I don’t have the time or the interest in keeping it going anymore…

Never fear! I’m not going anywhere. I needed a break, sure. I needed to reassess what I want this blog to be now. So, I will be making a few changes to better reflect my current interests and to make it as easy as possible. Easier blogging will help with my little procrastination problem. I’ll be giving the blog a new look and focusing on slightly shorter posts. On some occasions in the past I was reaching a bit to find enough to talk about with certain books, so instead of me trying to fill a certain word quota, some posts will be short, some will be long, and some I’ll condense into quick review lists. These lists will work best for books that I don’t have any strong opinions about. It will also allow me to read more books without having pending reviews piling up on me.

In addition to the usual book reviews, I’d like to try to find some room for more Off the Shelf posts to break things up a little. And, if I’m feeling particularly ambitious, I might convince myself to post a wee bit of creative writing here as well. Like so many other book lovers, I have certain writing-related aspirations. I also have very little confidence in my abilities and so much to learn.

With all of these changes, please forgive any layout weirdness that may occur in my older posts. Each layout works a bit differently and things that centered nicely in the old layout don’t work as well in the new one, and it will take time to correct things. But for the first time in months, I’m getting excited about this blog again! I’m not sure where I’m headed, but that’s half the fun isn’t it? New posts and a new layout coming soon! Until next time…

4 thoughts on “Why am I doing this again?

  1. That’s something I’m still trying to figure out how to do again, reviewing books. Blogging about plants seems to work again, to some extent, but books still seem daunting and difficult.

    1. What I have found to work best for me so far, is to remove all pressure, real or imagined, and make sure I’m doing what I want to do. In my case that’s posting when I feel like it, and only writing what I care about writing, not writing a longer post because I feel I should. Some posts will be short, others longer. The most important thing is to make sure that whatever you choose to post about, it’s entirely on your own terms. It’s easy to let other expectations lead you to doing things you don’t want to do.

      Stick to plants for now if that’s more comfortable, or try posting a shorter review of a book. Maybe write it the way you would describe it to a friend who asked you about it? That might make it less daunting.

      1. Yeah, removing that pressure of expecting longer posts from myself was really helpful for me, too.

        Hm, maybe I should try to write about books the way I talk about them to my coworker. I’m not sure my grumblings would translate well to writing, but I could try.

      2. Lately, I start with incoherent grumblings and then go over it and clean it up until I have something readable. The thing is, it doesn’t have to be perfect. I like to try to do a decent job, but it is just a blog after all. Do whatever you find enjoyable. Good luck with your posts and have fun!

Leave a Reply

