The Wise Man’s Fear {The Kingkiller Chronicle: Day Two}

The Wise Man's FearThe Wise Man’s Fear
{The Kingkiller Chronicle: Day Two}

By: Patrick Rothfuss

www.patrickrothfuss.com

(Fantasy)

1107 pages (Paperback)

“There are three things all wise men fear: the sea in storm, a night with no moon, and the anger of a gentle man.”

*   *   *

I love Kvothe. This series is awesome. Read it.

Hmm…I’m supposed to say more than that aren’t I? I’m terrible at reviewing the books I love. I do so much better pointing out faults, but I will give it a try.

I love Kvothe. He’s the reason these books are good. You get to know him so well he’s almost an extension of your own being. He’s got personality, talent, and a propensity for getting into trouble. He doesn’t always know when to keep his mouth shut, and things often go badly when he gets carried away. He does wonderful things and terrible things, and seeing the truth behind the legend of Kvothe the Arcane and Kvothe the Bloodless is fascinating.

Apart from Kvothe, Elodin and Auri are my second favorites in the series for their quirky and mysterious qualities. Elodin is brilliant, spontaneous, irreverent, and just a little bit mad while Auri is a delicate and intriguing character with her way of speaking in imaginative and nonsensical ways. Really, there isn’t one bad character in the series, bad people certainly, but never bad characters.

The story moves slowly, and yet not too slowly. There is so much to move through that it takes time to do so, but it never felt slow or long to me. I feel like Patrick Rothfuss thought of everything when writing this, every detail of the world, the characters, and the history. The entire creation is fit snugly and completely together.

I also love how each book begins and ends with “a silence of three parts.” I wish I could write like that. The interludes, returning to the present day, create a nice little break from the story of Kvothe’s past. It’s wonderful to see Kvothe seamlessly transition into Kote the innkeeper when he has customers.

This may be the longest book I’ve ever read. Nope, make that second longest, but an achievement nonetheless. So many great fantasy novels are extremely long, so I’ve had to get comfortable with thousand page books, and I have to say, it’s been a lot easier than I thought. Perhaps I’m choosing the right titles. When I first got The Name of the Wind, I was a little daunted by the number of pages and wondered if I could really like something that long. Now, after reading book two, I can firmly say that Patrick Rothfuss is my favorite author and The Kingkiller Chronicle is my favorite series. The only thing that could change this is the ending of book three. If it ends badly, I might reconsider, but I don’t think it’s likely to happen. I will be patiently awaiting the release of Doors of Stone, and for all those people complaining about it not being released yet, I say this…it will be ready when it’s ready. Do you want a crappy story done quickly or do you want an amazing story done slowly? I would happily wait ten years for this one. Let the man do his job and do it well. Until next time…

Happy Reading!

4 thoughts on “The Wise Man’s Fear {The Kingkiller Chronicle: Day Two}

  1. He is an amazing author, isn’t he? I can’t wait to read the third part, whenever he finishes it (it will totally be worth the wait). I also really enjoyed his novella he wrote about Auri recently – it was so weird and so unlike his other stuff, but brilliant all the same.

    1. I’ve seen some mixed reviews for The Slow Regard of Silent Things (brilliant title by the way) but since I love Auri’s character so much I think I’ll like it, even if it is different from the Kvothe books.

  2. Pat is sooo good, in writing as well as in person. (I’m so behind, but eventually, I’ll get around to writing about the reading I went to this spring.)
    The Slow Regard was definitely a strange book, but I love it so much! I think I need to reread it again so I can adequately express my love for it. (I’m so behind on book reviews, too.)
    I wonder how much longer he’ll take to finish Doors of Stone. I got to talk to his editor last year, who usually seems to be the type to say, “take as long as you need to make it the best book it can be”, but she also said she’s been telling him to finish the book instead of getting sidetracked with short stories or novellas.

    1. It’s got to be hard writing the third book after the first two were so great. I wouldn’t be surprised if he’s procrastinating a bit, either because there is so much pressure for the book to end well, or because he just doesn’t want it to end. Either way, I hope he manages to finish it sometime in the near future because I can’t wait to read it.

Leave a Reply

