The Bards of Bone Plain

The Bards of Bone PlainThe Bards of Bone Plain

By: Patricia A. McKillip

Publisher’s Website

(Fantasy)

329 pages (Trade Paperback)

Phelan Cre, bard and student of the School on the Hill, has one final paper to write. He chooses the subject of Bone Plain, a place of legend and song, thinking it will be an easy task, but in the process makes a startling discovery.

*   *   *

I picked this book up on a whim off the discount shelf at my local Barnes and Noble. It was $3.99 and the cover was so pretty. I knew if I left it behind it would haunt my dreams. Once again it seems I have good taste in cover art, because that was all I was going on, and well, the title too I suppose. This book didn’t even have a summary on it anywhere so I was going in with absolutely no idea what it would be like. As it turns out, this book was awesome!

If you’re looking for a quick bit of fantasy without having to invest in 1000 page books or long series, this is perfect – right around 300 pages, an interesting story with plenty of depth, that ends, and you can move on.

The story was captivating and wonderful and the stories within stories concept reminded me of Patrick Rothfuss’ Name of the Wind. Myth, legend, song, and poetry all meld together to make the perfect concoction. Who knew that bards could be so interesting? History, magic, and the present collide. The past repeats itself, and a great mystery is solved.

There was something comfortable about this story. It felt cozy and was very easy to read, despite the list of words I wrote down that I didn’t know well enough. Surprisingly, wordlessly made several appearances, so I guess the word is not exclusive to early Terry Brooks novels. I still feel like it’s an unnecessary word, but to each his own.

This is shaping up to be a very short review, but as it happens with books I love, sometimes there isn’t so much to say, other than “This was awesome!” I have nothing to complain about, and to talk anymore about what I loved, I fear would give away too much of the story. So you’ll just have to take my word for it. If you like fantasy, myth, and legend, then you’ll like this. I’ve already added all of Patricia A. McKillip’s books to my reading list. Until next time…

Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “The Bards of Bone Plain

  1. Oh my gosh! I did literally the same thing about a year ago when I worked at Barnes! I bought it just because it was bargain and the cover was gorgeous. Still haven’t read it, but I’m so glad you enjoyed it. I’ll have to move it up on my TBR list.

Leave a Reply

