Echoes

EchoesEchoes

By: Therin Knite

knitewrites.com

(Scifi/Urban Fantasy/Paranormal)

213 pages

My first ever indie review…yippee!!

Before I get into the story, I’d like to first say that I’m impressed with the whole package. I chose to purchase the paperback version rather than download it (I have this thing about being able to physically hold the things I pay for) and the printed version is wonderfully professional. The cover art is great, and this thing was edited well, better than a few big name publishers I’ve reviewed before. I have come across entire repeated paragraphs in books published the traditional way and I didn’t find a single typo in this. Well done.

This was a fun story, not too serious, but not too light either. It was a lovely balance. It’s difficult for me to nail down the genre which had elements of science fiction, urban fantasy, paranormal, and even felt a bit like a thriller in some places. I liked the mix of elements in this. Government agencies, super powers, deadly dream dragons…yup, that’s just a fun combination.

The characters were all nicely unique and I enjoyed the interactions between them. There was plenty of snark and attitude, but not in an over-the-top kind of way. It was entertaining rather than irritating and it felt genuine rather than being there just for the sake of it. I liked the characters a lot, especially Dynara Chamberlain. Her personality is sprightly but tough and I find her fascinating…not to mention kick-ass.

What was truly wonderful about this book was that I didn’t guess the ending at all. I have what I like to call story brain. I have a tendency to predict things in stories based on all the stories I have already experienced and the stories I’ve been writing in my head for so many years. There weren’t any slow parts with this story either. It didn’t drag on in any way and at 213 pages it was a refreshing read. So many of the books I’m drawn to turn out to be 700+ pages, so when I find something I like that’s short and sweet I’m very happy.  Can’t wait till the sequel!

And I will leave you with this brief quote from the story. I just really liked the description here so I thought I’d jot it down.

“His hands are as steady as rocks, the result of decades of laughing in the face of death until he came to believe it was truly funny.”

Awesome. Until next time…

Happy Reading!

6 thoughts on “Echoes

  1. Deadly dream dragons, huh? That’s…different. In a good way, of course.

    Think I’ll add this to my (ever-growing) list of things to read. I seem to have been reading a lot of long things lately, so it would be good to read something a bit shorter.

    1. I think this book is a great way to break up reading long books. It’s quick and fun and I find I’m really liking shorter books these days. Fantasy novels have a way of getting a little too long sometimes.

      1. Gotta agree with that. You ever read The Cloud Roads? It’s a pretty good book about a winged humanoid shapeshifter, but it could easily have been about half the size it was.

      2. I’m not familiar with that book, should I read it?

        Generally speaking I think there is this idea out there that a novel needs to be 300 pages at least and the more pages it has, the better it is somehow. And to be honest, I used to think that way too, but I’m realizing that long books can just be boring and short ones can be more fun. In the end it all depends on the story.

      3. It’s okay, in my opinion. The worldbuilding was interesting and I liked the protagonist, but I just found it a little too dense at times. I’ve read much worse, certainly.

        Frankly, anything over 300-400 pages puts me off unless I’ve heard VERY good things about a book beforehand. I don’t like not finishing books, so if a book is really long…yeah.

      4. If I start a book I pretty much have to finish it and I get myself into trouble that way when I pick up big thick books from the library. I really need to stop doing that. But at least with this blog I can review it in the end so my effort isn’t totally wasted.

Leave a Reply

