The Garden of Eve

The Garden of Eve

By: K. L. Going

www.klgoing.com

(Children’s Fantasy)

This children’s book caught my eye at my library’s last book sale and reminds me of the “chapter books” I used to read in elementary school. While I didn’t set out to bring home a children’s book, this one had a quality to it that I couldn’t ignore.

I was first captured by the beautiful but somewhat melancholy feel of the cover art, which is not something I would have expected to find in a children’s book. Since I’m drawn to similar traits in adult fiction, it seemed worth the read, and it was a quick one at that. I was not disappointed. While being completely appropriate for children, the story is largely about dealing with death and loss, but with some fantastical elements, links to the garden of Eden, and even an unexpected twist. It was a lovely little story, if a bit sad in parts, and I would recommend it to children and adults alike.

I’ve always been a little reluctantly ageist about books, but I’ve found more and more that reading a children’s book or a teen book as an adult is not innately childish, which is a relief, because I hated thinking that my options would be so limited because of something so trivial. With my perspective so changed, I will continue to read whatever I please. Until next time…

Happy Reading!

One thought on “The Garden of Eve

  1. Sounds like an interesting book. I really like the cover, it’s sort of eerie, but captivating all the same. The cover is really important, it does draw you to the book. I think I agree with you- I would have picked this up if I had seen it!

Leave a Reply

