Black Order

Black Order

By: James Rollins

www.jamesrollins.com

(Thriller)

I don’t read thrillers very often. In fact, despite their title, I don’t usually find them to be all that thrilling. They are the action movies of the literary world, and for me, while action movies are fun and I thoroughly enjoy them from time to time, I quickly forget them. Thrillers tend to be somewhat predictable, and the characters can easily be a little too cookie cutter. I like complexity in a book, interesting environments (historical or imagined), well developed characters, unexpected plot twists, etc.  Although few books manage to live up to this standard that I’ve developed, it’s OK because it makes it all the more exciting when one does.

While I don’t read a lot of thrillers, this is my second James Rollins book (Deep Fathom being the first), and it was pretty good. These days the plots of so many thrillers tend to revolve around either the Vatican or the Nazis. While it’s a little weird having those two topics occupy the same sentence, they are probably the most mysterious things in our history, which makes them easy plot devices. It’s natural to be curious about the history of the world you live in. This book chose the latter subject, and managed to combine just the right amount of history and real science to make it plausible. The characters are decent, with Painter Crowe being my favorite, but maybe I just really like his name. There is even a section in the back addressing the science and the history, and even lists some of the books the author used most when researching.

If you are a fan of thrillers I would definitely recommend it or really any others by this author. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed. Until next time…

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

