The Saga of Seven Suns: Hidden Empire

The Saga of Seven Suns: Hidden Empire

By: Kevin J. Anderson

Official Website

For some reason I just couldn’t read this book quickly, hence the long period of time since my last review.  It’s a bit of a slow read and took a really long time to get going.  I really wish the last fifty or so pages had been the beginning, because that’s when everything finally picked up.  That being said, I understand the need to introduce this whole world, its governments, aliens, and characters, I just wish it could have been done in a more exciting way.

Like Tad Williams’ Otherland, this book has many short chapters following a myriad of storylines, following different characters and their relations to all the things that finally happen at the end of the book.  This is a great thing if you don’t happen to like a particular plot line, but it can also be a little distracting without anything to connect those chapters, or any cliff hangers to make you want to get back to that character faster.  With so many stopping points it makes it too easy to put the book down and go tinker with something else…or perhaps I have a short attention span…

My favorite aspect of the story are the world trees, and I find them to be so adorable (though that may not have been the intention) with their sentience and super cute thirst for knowledge.  Can trees really be cute?  I liked the two archaeologists and the mysterious Klikiss robots.  The relationship between Jess and Ceska is alright, but starting a story off with two people just automatically in love isn’t as fun as having them fall for each other slowly over the course of the story.  Despite all the things that keep them apart, it still felt a little too simple for me.  The Ildiran’s and the other characters filled out the rest of the story nicely.

I really wish this story had more action, emotion, surprises, and epic moments, but since this is only the first of seven, maybe it’s merely the introduction to all of those things.  I don’t want to judge it too harshly yet, but so far it feels like it’s lacking a little something, perhaps it will be found in book two.  Until then…

Happy Reading! 🙂

The whole series:

  • Hidden Empire
  • A Forest of Stars
  • Horizon Storms
  • Scattered Suns
  • Of Fire and Night
  • Metal Swarm
  • The Ashes of Worlds


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s